Everything You Need to Know About the ITIL Foundation and Exam


ITIL is a popular acronym used in the information technology industry. It stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. IT services are widely used in a variety of different businesses today. You may have seen computers and networks being utilised throughout different industrial sectors. Because businesses rely so heavily on information technology, it was imperative that a set of guidelines be introduced which focused on managing different IT services. The main focus of ITIL is to align IT services with the needs of the business. There are five core volumes that were published in 2011, focusing on each stage of the ITSM (IT service management) lifecycle.

ITIL gives detailed descriptions of the different processes, procedures, checklists and tasks that are not specific to a particular organisation, but can be applied by every company to integrate its strategies with its IT services in order to maximise value and maintain a high standard of competency. ITIL allows organisations to establish a baseline that can be used for implementation, measurement and further planning.

Why Take the Exam?

The ITIL® foundation and exam is currently offered by the New Horizons Learning Centre. As mentioned above, ITIL seeks to bridge the gap between the needs of an organisation and the IT services that it requires. The exam is designed for anyone who is working in the IT industry and wishes to better understand the best practices regarding IT implementation. Understanding the basics and essentials is imperative before moving on to other organisation-specific techniques.

Learning how to integrate different IT services into your work environment is one of the core offerings of the course at the New Horizons Learning Centre. The ITIL® foundation and exam could help you become a better IT manager, utilising the company’s resources to full effect. It’s a three-day course, at the end of which you will receive an international certification that can be used to further your career prospects. It’s important to note that you will have to sit for an exam after the completion of the course before the certification can be awarded.

About the Course

There are five modules covered in the course:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

Each module covers the essentials and the advanced techniques that can be used for integrating IT services to better meet the needs of your organisation. It’s important to note that there are no pre-requisites for taking this course. However, the instructors are going to assume that all participants are working in the IT industry, or at least have experience in working in an IT-centric role. At the end of the course, you will know about the history and importance of ITIL, and develop a sound understanding of process theory, development and ownership of different IT practices. You will also know about the key definitions and common terminology used throughout the industry in different ITIL models.

Leave A Reply